Week of 1/15/14

The piece we read in class, although I can’t for the life of my remember the title, was really interesting to me. I wasn’t so much drawn in by the specific content, but much more by the thematic elements and consistency. Reading through it, I kept noticing that themes and ideas mentioned in the introduction were constantly used in the poetry, relating the piece back to itself and keeping it grounded in what it wanted to say. The overall theme of change and cultural appropriation only became more evident as the piece continued. The final semi-mirrored pages were incredibly potent in making this point — the display of small differences only helped to emphasize the large impact that the changes had on the environment and culture.

1 thought on “Week of 1/15/14

  1. Ok, great comments, ideas, thoughts here the past couple of weeks. Go on further, say more, expand. Although I took the handouts back that we used in class, maybe you could say more about how this relates to other things, your own thinking and writing, etc. Good, don’t stop now!

Leave a comment